Positively Branded
I AM positively branding the world!

The first mile is always the hardest

I recently started jogging in August of last year, and I did my first 2 mile run about a month later. Now for me this was no easy task being that I’ve never ran for sport or exercise in my 27 years of life. Nevertheless I was determined to complete it no matter how much it hurt or how long it took, to prove to myself  that I could do it.

During the first mile I could feel my stomach and my legs beginning to hurt. Then my mind started working against me with thoughts like: “What are you tryna prove”, “You’re not a runner”, “Why are you doing this to yourself”,”Give up”. On the second mile I had to self talk  just to get through it.

After that first run my legs ached for days. I guess that was my body’s way of rebelling in hopes that I would quit. I must admit that in the past this would have deterred me from attempting another run, but this time around I was determined to continue running, despite the pain.

My second 2 mile run wasn’t any easier than the first, but during the second mile I began to tune out the negative thoughts and replace them with positive thoughts. “You can do it”, “You’re almost done”, “You’ve done this before”, “This is easy”. Changing my thought pattern propelled me to complete what I had set out to do. And to my surprise, my legs didn’t hurt at all after that.

The same goes for the early stages of a new project. Incorporating new responsibilities and different ways of doing things can be quite a challenge, but if you purpose in your mind to push through and stick it out, you are bound to get through those  minor discomforts. It’s also important to have people in your corner that are going to challenge you and hold you accountable. People that make sure that you do what you say you’re gonna do.

“Most people never run far enough on their first wind to find out they’ve got a second.”  William James

Click here to visit us on Facebook

2 Responses to “The first mile is always the hardest”

  1. I love the quote about the second wind. It’s so true!!


Leave a Reply

